Search Engine Optimization and Internet Marketing Service

Be careful if you have Adwords

Be careful if you have Adwords

To all webmasters who have Google Adwords account(PPC). Rusty of Search Engine Roundtable reported phishing attacks coming through email to the Adword users:

Phishing is a form identity theft, whereby hackers pose as official companies and ask to confirm private and financial information, taking you to a fake page that looks like the official website. Once you enter or “confirm” information, it is send to the hackers server.

Phishers may ask for:

  • Credit Cards
  • Social Security
  • Account Password
  • Address, Full Name, Bank Account

Anything that the real company will ask you during the registration is usually requested by phishers during the fraud. The recent Google email looks like this:

“Dear Google AdWords Customer!

In order to update your billing information, please sign in to your AdWords account at https://adwords.google.com, and update your billing information. Your account will be reactivated as soon as you have entered your payment details. Your ads will show immediately if you decide to pay for clicks via credit or debit card. If you decide to pay by direct debit, we may need to receive your signed debit authorization before your ads start running, depending on your location. If you choose bank transfer, your ads will show as soon as we receive your first payment. (Payment options vary by location.) Thank you for choosing AdWords. We look forward to providing you with the most effective advertising available.

Sincerely,

The Google AdWords Team

————————

This message was sent from a notification-only email address that does not accept incoming email. Please do not reply to this message. If you have any questions after following the steps above, please visit the Google AdWords Help Center at https://adwords.google.com/support/bin/topic.py?topic=8336&hl=en_US to find answers to frequently asked questions and a ‘contact us’ link near the bottom of the page. ”

Beware

I Have visited this link in order to test the fake page. This is the warning that FireFox gave me, even though the page is dead:

firefox warning

I did the same with Internet Explorer, but never got any type of warning.

If you are using Internet Explorer be very careful, as it is not as good as the Firefox. You can get Firefox here.

Back to Top Back to Homepage


Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.